The Old Nottinghamians' Golfing Society was formed at around the end of World War II when a small group of keen ON golfers got together to enjoy a few holes and some good company on local courses.

Every year since 1945 the Society has held at least one golf event and in recent years this has grown to six or seven annual trophy competitions or matches. Regular venues include Wollaton Park, Beeston Fields, Stanton, and Notts Golf Club at Hollinwell.

Whilst the Golfing Society has always been linked with the Old Nottinghamians' Society it is, like the other affiliated groups, a separate body with its own elected officers who organise the programme of events.

Over the many years of its existence ONGS has been administered by a small group of dedicated members.  For at least 25 years until 2005 the Society was run single-handedly by John Brooksby, who, on stepping down, gave his name to one of the trophies that we now contest each year.  Since then Michael Rowen, as Life President, and Geoff Bryan as Secretary, Treasurer and general dogsbody, have been the prime movers in keeping the Society going and the golfers in check.

Credit is also due to Chris Hawthorne (Match Secretary for six years), John Chambers (Treasurer for seven years) and Clive Bentley (ON Society Committee representative for ten years).

The Society welcomes golfers of all standards, both male and female, from the ranks of former pupils, staff and the wider School community.  Our annual subscription is only £10 and, in an effort to encourage younger members, all School leavers are entitled to free automatic membership of the Old Nottinghamians' Golfing Society until they attain the age of 25.  In addition, some events are subsidised for student members.

Anyone interested in joining us should contact Geoff Bryan via the Society Secretary.

Old Nottinghamians' Golf Society Officers


Michael Rowen


Golfing Society Report 2020

Geoff Bryan