The Old Nottinghamians Golfing Society was formed at around the end of World War II when a small group of keen ON golfers got together to enjoy a few holes and some good company on local courses.

Every year since 1945 the Society has held at least one golf event and in recent years this has grown to 6 or 7 annual trophy competitions or matches.

Whilst the Golf Society has always been linked with the Old Nottinghamians Society it is, like the other affiliated groups, a separate body with its own elected officers who organise the programme of events.

Over the many years of its existence ONGS has been run by a small group of dedicated members.  For at least 25 years until 2005 the Society was run single-handed by John Brooksby, who, on stepping down, gave his name to one of the trophies that we now contest each year.  Since then Michael Rowen, as Life President, and Geoff Bryan as Secretary, Treasurer and general dogsbody have been the prime movers in keeping the Society going and the golfers in check.

Credit is also due to Chris Hawthorne (Match Secretary for 6 years), John Chambers (Treasurer for 7 years) and Clive Bentley (ON Society Committee Rep for 10 years).

The Society welcomes golfers of all standards, both male and female, from the ranks of former pupils, staff and the wider school community.  Our annual subscription is only £10 and, in an effort to encourage younger members, all School leavers are entitled to free automatic membership of the Old Nottinghamians Golfing Society until they attain the age of 25.  In addition, some events are subsidised for student members.

Anyone interested in joining us should contact the Secretary, Geoff Bryan.

Old Nottinghamians Golf Society Officers for 2017


Michael Rowen


Julian Gunn


Geoff Bryan

Results - 2016           

April - The Spring Meeting, incorporating the Brooksby Trophy, was held at Stoke Rochford GC.  The winner of the trophy was our Vice Captain at the time, Julian Gunn.

May – The match against the School at Wollaton Park GC resulted in a resounding win by the school, 4 matches to 1.

June - the 500th Trophy at Radcliffe GC, an ‘Am-Am’ competition for teams of 4, was won for the third time running by Tony Palfreman, Neil Highfield, Chris Hawthorne and Chris Spilsbury (pictured on their win the year before at Belton Park!).

July – the match against Old Uppinghamians GS at Notts GC ended in an honourable half (2:2).

September – the Autumn Meeting was held at Stanton GC and the overall winner was Jim Wild, who also took home the Pentecost Cup.  A new trophy for higher handicap players, presented by brothers David & Jim Wild, and called the ‘Wild and Wayward’ Cup, was won by Ian Cooper.

October – a match against Old Loughburians GS took place at Longcliffe GC and ONGS managed a win by 2.5 to 1.5. A new trophy, commissioned by the Loughborough team, was presented to ONGS and will be played for annually from now on.


Results - 2017             

April - the Spring Meeting and Brooksby Trophy were held once again at Stoke Rochford GC.  The winner this time was Martin Hardwidge.

May – the Society unfortunately managed to lose our match against the School for the fourth year in a row at Wollaton Park GC.  The result was a bit closer at 3:2 and a little bit of history was made when the first female golfer made the team to represent the school.  Next year we hope she’ll be on our team!

May – for the first time the regular Beeston Fields Lunch was followed by a game of golf, which 8 players enjoyed. No doubt we will repeat this next year.

July - at the 500th event at Radcliffe GC, very unsurprisingly the same team (Tony Palfreman, Neil Highfield, Chris Hawthorne and Chris Spilsbury) once again took the trophy (now four in a row).  They may be further handicapped next time, or perhaps split up!!

July – the match against Old Uppinghamians GS at Notts GC was unfortunately lost against a clearly superior team, but the day, the meal and convivial company throughout was enjoyed by all who took part.

September - our Autumn Meeting was held at Beeston Fields GC and the winner of the Pentecost Cup was Keith Hayes, who now has the distinction of being the most prolific winner of our oldest trophy, with wins in 1997, 1998, 2003, 2011, 2014 and 2017.  The Wild and Wayward Cup, for over 18 handicap players, was won by Steve Bryan.

2017-18 Captain, Julian Gunn, presents the Pentecost Cup to Keith Hayes.

November 2nd - After initially being cancelled in late October, due to inclement weather, the annual match against Old Loughburians GS went ahead at Notts GC, Hollinwell and as the result was a half (2:2) ONGS retained the trophy, having won it in 2016.

Coming Up…

Fixtures for the 2018 season are now being planned and details will be circulated in January or February.

Full details from the Secretary, Geoff Bryan.